Alternative Medicine

Compassionate Touch

Availability: <b>Out of Print</b>

Dawn Nelson

The aim of this unique how-to book is to address the often unmet need of the aged, the ill, and the dying for intimate, nurturing contact. Compassionate touch, as defined by the author, is a gentle, sensitive, and…

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Dawn Nelson

The aim of this unique how-to book is to address the often unmet need of the aged, the ill, and the dying for intimate, nurturing contact. Compassionate touch, as defined by the author, is a gentle, sensitive, and non-intrusive program of massage, touch therapy, and comfort care, supported by such helping skills as active listening, reflective communication, intuitive feedback, guided relaxation, and breathing awareness. It aims to ease both physical and emotional pain, in a way that medication and medical procedures simply cannot. Written with great clarity and sensitivity, this is an ideal book for massage therapists and bodyworkers looking to expand their skills; furthermore, it is an essential reference for all caregivers and family members.



Conscious Ear, The

Alfred A. Tomatis

This autobiography was originally published in French (1977). The Tomatis Method, which helps develop listening and communication skills, is used in 15 different countries….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Alfred A. Tomatis

This autobiography was originally published in French (1977). The Tomatis Method, which helps develop listening and communication skills, is used in 15 different countries. Tomatis addresses his experience with some of the most difficult therapeutic and educational problems (e.g., stuttering, autism, dyslexia, balance, motor control, and integration) and shows how they are affected and controlled by the ear. His account will be welcomed by speech therapists, performing artists, educators, and psychotherapists.

“What Tomatis has done with sound and hearing is virtually a Copernican revolution.” -Jean Houston, Ph.D., author of The Possible Human

“Tomatis’ work is the long awaited foundation for what may well be the most important research in sound, learning and health.” -Don Campbell, author of Introduction to the Musical Brain and Rhythms of Learning

“In the tradition of Buckminster Fuller, Emanuel Swedenborg and Nicola Tesla, Tomatis is an irrepressible pioneer.” -Marilyn Ferguson, author of The Aquarian Conspiracy


$25.95List Price:

Doctor Max

Giuliano Dego

This extraordinary biographical novel is a faithful account of the heroic life of Dr. Max Gerson, originator of the most significant medically-based cure for cancer to emerge in modern times. Beginning in 1933, the novel details Gerson’s flight from Nazi Germany and the subsequent struggles of Andrej Markhoff (an….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Giuliano Dego

This extraordinary biographical novel is a faithful account of the heroic life of Dr. Max Gerson, originator of the most significant medically-based cure for cancer to emerge in modern times. Beginning in 1933, the novel details Gerson’s flight from Nazi Germany and the subsequent struggles of Andrej Markhoff (an emigre Russian aristocrat and former patient) to write the doctor’s story. Years later, Guliano Dego recovers Markoff’s papers and is at once captured by the drama of Gerson’s life. He travels to Mexico, to Gerson’s clinic in exile, where he observes the method first-hand and uncovers new and shocking facts in the plot to suppress Gerson’s work. In the novel’s gripping denouement, the author finally discovers both the fate of Andrej Markoff and the forces behind international medical collusion.


$24.95List Price:

Dragon Rises, Red Bird Flies

Availability: Out of Print

Leon Hammer, M.D.

A critically acclaimed, comprehensive resource for the layperson or the professional in any of the healing arts, this book examines the natural energy functions of the human organism as a key to mental, emotional, and spiritual health. It offers new insight into….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Leon Hammer, M.D.

A critically acclaimed, comprehensive resource for the layperson or the professional in any of the healing arts, this book examines the natural energy functions of the human organism as a key to mental, emotional, and spiritual health. It offers new insight into disease, showing how it is not merely an invasion from the outside but rather a by-product of an organism’s unsuccessful attempt to restore its own balance. Informative case histories are included.



Prayer Medicine

Louis M. Savary and Patricia Berne

This refreshing approach to the tensions and frustrations of contemporary life combines strategies derived from various forms of psychotherapeutic, meditational and “centering” practices with a tender and devotionally rich application of the more traditional forms of prayer…

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Louis M. Savary and
Patricia Berne

This refreshing approach to the tensions and frustrations of contemporary life combines strategies derived from various forms of psychotherapeutic, meditational and “centering” practices with a tender and devotionally rich application of the more traditional forms of prayer. The book teaches us how to use prayer to deepen our contact with others, balance our energy, affirm others as a way to self-healing. It teaches us how to overcome frustration, depression, and burn-out, and speaks to those who long to rediscover the virtues of traditional worship while applying more contemporary approaches to the stresses of modern existence.

Five sections offer appropriate forms of “prayer medicine” to balance inner energy (including the use of Christian “Mantras”), recognize and embrace emotions (both positive and negative), develop the reflective mind, find healing in physical activity, and deepen interpersonal connections.


$12.95List Price:
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5Next >Last »