Music

Bloomsday

Jackson Mac Low

“Jackson Mac Low’s marvels of verbal invention provoke nonstop streams of readerly imagination. In Bloomsday, anything can happen, and continues to.” -Charles Bernstein

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Jackson Mac Low

“Jackson Mac Low’s marvels of verbal invention provoke nonstop streams of readerly imagination. In Bloomsday, anything can happen, and continues to.” -Charles Bernstein

Jackson Mac Low was born in Chicago on September 12, 1922. He was a poet and composer, and a writer of performance pieces, essays, plays, and radio works. He was also a painter and multimedia performance artist, and often worked in collaboration with his wife, Anne Tardos. He is the author of twenty-six books, and his works have been published in many anthologies and periodicals as well as read publicly, exhibited, performed, and broadcast in North America, Europe, and New Zealand.

For more info on Mac Low’s life and work see www.jacksonmaclow.com


$9.95List Price:

Body Against Body

Arnie Zane and Bill T. Jones

World renown dancer / choreographers Bill T. Jones and Arnie Zane were partners in art and life from 1971 to Zane’s death in the late 80’s, sharing a home, a dance company, and a celebrated creative process.  Body Against Body traces their dramatic (and often controversial) careers as they intertwine and collide….

OUT OF PRINT

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Arnie Zane and Bill T. Jones

World renown dancer / choreographers Bill T. Jones and Arnie Zane were partners in art and life from 1971 to Zane’s death in the late 80’s, sharing a home, a dance company, and a celebrated creative process. Body Against Body traces their dramatic (and often controversial) careers as they intertwine and collide in a unique choreographic collaboration that has influenced much contemporary dance by merging cultures, races, and artistic styles. The book includes Zane’s haunting photos, Jones’ visceral poetry and prose, performance scripts and scenarios, a biographical essay (with performance catalog), dance photos of the company in action, and commentaries by dancers, critics, composers, musicians, visual artists, and a range of others. Among the artists who have contributed their creative visions to these collaborations are Bill Katz, Robert Longo, Peter Gordon, Keith Harring, and Max Roach.

OUT OF PRINT


$17.95List Price:

Conscious Ear, The

Alfred A. Tomatis

This autobiography was originally published in French (1977). The Tomatis Method, which helps develop listening and communication skills, is used in 15 different countries….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Alfred A. Tomatis

This autobiography was originally published in French (1977). The Tomatis Method, which helps develop listening and communication skills, is used in 15 different countries. Tomatis addresses his experience with some of the most difficult therapeutic and educational problems (e.g., stuttering, autism, dyslexia, balance, motor control, and integration) and shows how they are affected and controlled by the ear. His account will be welcomed by speech therapists, performing artists, educators, and psychotherapists.

“What Tomatis has done with sound and hearing is virtually a Copernican revolution.” -Jean Houston, Ph.D., author of The Possible Human

“Tomatis’ work is the long awaited foundation for what may well be the most important research in sound, learning and health.” -Don Campbell, author of Introduction to the Musical Brain and Rhythms of Learning

“In the tradition of Buckminster Fuller, Emanuel Swedenborg and Nicola Tesla, Tomatis is an irrepressible pioneer.” -Marilyn Ferguson, author of The Aquarian Conspiracy


$25.95List Price:

EGZ Book of Frogs

Franz Kamin

EGZ Book of Frogs was originally written by “Uncle Franz” for the child (EGZ) that lives inside his adult friend Eve Rosenthal; and was illustrated by another friend, Kathy Bourbonais.  This and several other little stories were….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Franz Kamin

EGZ Book of Frogs was originally written by “Uncle Franz” for the child (EGZ) that lives inside his adult friend Eve Rosenthal; and was illustrated by another friend, Kathy Bourbonais. This and several other little stories were later set to music for the mime and flute team of Jane Adler and Andrew Bolotowsky. The book is available either with or without a recording (7 inch LP) of these pieces. Also available from Station Hill Press: Franz Kamin’s book Ann Margret Loves You and 12 inch LP Behavioral Drift II/ Rugugmool.


$8.95List Price:

If I Am a Musical Thinker

If I Am A Musical Thinker is a statement of the aesthetic, social, and spiritual credo of the influential American composer and writer Benjamin Boretz. Boretz proposes that artistic expression answers primal human…

Buy now

 

Additional DescriptionMore Details

If I Am A Musical Thinker is a statement of the aesthetic, social, and spiritual credo of the influential American composer and writer Benjamin Boretz. Boretz proposes that artistic expression answers primal human needs for experiencing identity through articulation in artistic media; and further, that theoretical reflection is — constructively or deconstructively.

Buy now


$9.95List Price:

Liner Notes

Andy Mister

Liner Notes is a semi-narrative prose poem, a meditation on alienation and pop culture. Beginning with the Beach Boy’s unfinished masterpiece “Smile”, Mister describes a world populated by ghosts. Adrift on a sea of drug use, boredom and popular entertainment, Mister traces his relationship to the obsessive collection of ephemera and the coterminous feelings of isolation and loss.

Huffington Post Review by Seth Abramson

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Andy Mister

Liner Notes is a semi-narrative prose poem, a meditation on alienation and pop culture. Beginning with the Beach Boy’s unfinished masterpiece “Smile”, Mister describes a world populated by ghosts. Adrift on a sea of drug use, boredom and popular entertainment, Mister traces his relationship to the obsessive collection of ephemera and the coterminous feelings of isolation and loss. Like an iPod on shuffle, lyrical descriptions of urban landscapes and memories of failed relationships mix with song lyrics and deadpan anecdotes of death, failure. In the end a life, like the book itself, is assembled from the detritus of pop culture. As he writes, “Each billboard is a monument to our ability to believe in anything, at least for a moment. Then it’s gone.” But belief’s shadow remains, amid the news of a world shot full of holes, which Liner Notes’ hauntings seem to delineate like the chalk figure at the center of every homicide scene we’ve ever imagined ourselves appearing within… “There’ll probably be some music there, lining your eyelids.”

I love the blunt care for real time, with all its gaps & noises & bends, Andy Mister takes in the searching, powerful scroll of paragraphs that make up Liner Notes. Working through the implied vision of an undecided note taker prone to stark assertions and excavating insights to perception, Mister puts songs at the heart of his relationship to language & digs away at the disappearances they reflect in their, and his, histories. “The world becomes boring when you brush away the detritus” says the same mind that listens to own its aloneness, & desires, evenly, “to dissolve each distance in distance”. —Anselm Berrigan

Andy Mister’s loving and disturbing “notes” create a complex harmony (sympathy) between public noise and private revelation. In the midst of Liner Notes we read: “Childhood is a song I can barely remember the words to. They only come back to me when I am thinking of something else.” that something else is at the heart of this compelling and magical book. Listen! —Peter Gizzi

Jim Carroll’s “People Who Died” comes immediately to mind, but Liner Notes has more in common with David Markson’s late books or with Frank O’Hara’s “Hatred” than with any pop song. What’s most evident, though, is that Andy Mister cares for his readers by caring about his subject. He’s your friend, and he’s alive. —Graham Foust

I had forgotten with what feverishness I used to study the back jackets of my LPs. Was I seeking to understand my desire? The sadness of desolate beauty? The sensitive youth’s love affair with death? It’s all here—as breathless and disarmingly self-conscious as the sweetest parking-lot kiss. I love this book. —Jennifer Moxley

Huffington Post Review by Seth Abramson

Fanzine review and interview

Volta Pick by Eli Noah Gordon

Boston Review appearance of Liner Notes

Sink Review of Liner NotesFall 2013 


$13.95List Price:

Music & Your Mind

The power of music to effect significant changes in consciousness has long been known, but it was Helen L. Bonny’s pioneer work in the field of music therapy that first offered a specific method…

Additional DescriptionMore Details

The power of music to effect significant changes in consciousness The power of music to effect significant changes in consciousness has long been known, but it was Helen L. Bonny’s pioneer work in the field of music therapy that first offered a specific method using guided imagery for altering our state of awareness. This updated and expanded edition offers step-by-step descriptions of twenty-five listening experiences designed to open new doors to creativity, insight, and self-understanding.



Music and Sound in the Healing Arts

Richly illustrated with pictures, stories, and the author’s experience as composer and therapist, this book explores the history and practice of healing sound from ancient philosophies to the practical applications of therapy, religion, and art: mantra, toning, voice evaluation, tuning forks, and music listening….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

John Beaulieu

Richly illustrated with pictures, stories, and the author’s experience as composer and therapist, this book explores the history and practice of healing sound from ancient philosophies to the practical applications of therapy, religion, and art: mantra, toning, voice evaluation, tuning forks, and music listening. It also contains guidelines and exercises for teaching and an evaluation of music therapy today.

”…destined to become an invaluable resource for teachers, students and practitioners in all the healing arts. (He) guides his reader through all there is to know about sound healing—perfectly integrating didactic left-brain material with right-brain inner journeying.” – Elisabeth L. Macrae, MD

“(His) development of the body as sound is artfully done and is maintained by a well-supported and cohesive systems view. I especially appreciate his presentation of the practical aspects of sound energetics.” – James Z. Said, DC, ND

“Great! Finally a book on the important topic of healing with sound that comes from clinical experience—not facile esoteric speculation.” – David Gonzalez, Certified Music Therapist


$15.95List Price:

Wonders of the Natural Mind

Tenzin Wangyal

This book is a presentation of Dzogchen as taught in the Bon tradition…

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Tenzin Wangyal

This book is a presentation of Dzogchen as taught in the Bon tradition. Dzogchen has began to be familiar to Westerners parincipally through the teachings of Nyingmapa school. In WONDERS OF THE NATURAL MIND, the author presents the Dzogchne teachings based on the Zhang Shung NyanGyud, the fundamental Bon text. The test gives an epitome of the main points of Dzogchen, its relation to the various systems of Bon teachings, and the authoer’s personal relfections on the practive of Dzogchen in the West.



Pages: 1 2 3 4 5Next >Last »