Music

Bloomsday

Jackson Mac Low

“Jackson Mac Low’s marvels of verbal invention provoke nonstop streams of readerly imagination. In Bloomsday, anything can happen, and continues to.” -Charles Bernstein

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Jackson Mac Low

“Jackson Mac Low’s marvels of verbal invention provoke nonstop streams of readerly imagination. In Bloomsday, anything can happen, and continues to.” -Charles Bernstein

Jackson Mac Low was born in Chicago on September 12, 1922. He was a poet and composer, and a writer of performance pieces, essays, plays, and radio works. He was also a painter and multimedia performance artist, and often worked in collaboration with his wife, Anne Tardos. He is the author of twenty-six books, and his works have been published in many anthologies and periodicals as well as read publicly, exhibited, performed, and broadcast in North America, Europe, and New Zealand.

For more info on Mac Low’s life and work see www.jacksonmaclow.com


$9.95List Price:

Body Against Body

Arnie Zane and Bill T. Jones

World renown dancer / choreographers Bill T. Jones and Arnie Zane were partners in art and life from 1971 to Zane’s death in the late 80’s, sharing a home, a dance company, and a celebrated creative process.  Body Against Body traces their dramatic (and often controversial) careers as they intertwine and collide….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Arnie Zane and Bill T. Jones

World renown dancer / choreographers Bill T. Jones and Arnie Zane were partners in art and life from 1971 to Zane’s death in the late 80’s, sharing a home, a dance company, and a celebrated creative process. Body Against Body traces their dramatic (and often controversial) careers as they intertwine and collide in a unique choreographic collaboration that has influenced much contemporary dance by merging cultures, races, and artistic styles. The book includes Zane’s haunting photos, Jones’ visceral poetry and prose, performance scripts and scenarios, a biographical essay (with performance catalog), dance photos of the company in action, and commentaries by dancers, critics, composers, musicians, visual artists, and a range of others. Among the artists who have contributed their creative visions to these collaborations are Bill Katz, Robert Longo, Peter Gordon, Keith Harring, and Max Roach.


$17.95List Price:

Conscious Ear, The

Alfred A. Tomatis

This autobiography was originally published in French (1977). The Tomatis Method, which helps develop listening and communication skills, is used in 15 different countries….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Alfred A. Tomatis

This autobiography was originally published in French (1977). The Tomatis Method, which helps develop listening and communication skills, is used in 15 different countries. Tomatis addresses his experience with some of the most difficult therapeutic and educational problems (e.g., stuttering, autism, dyslexia, balance, motor control, and integration) and shows how they are affected and controlled by the ear. His account will be welcomed by speech therapists, performing artists, educators, and psychotherapists.

“What Tomatis has done with sound and hearing is virtually a Copernican revolution.” -Jean Houston, Ph.D., author of The Possible Human

“Tomatis’ work is the long awaited foundation for what may well be the most important research in sound, learning and health.” -Don Campbell, author of Introduction to the Musical Brain and Rhythms of Learning

“In the tradition of Buckminster Fuller, Emanuel Swedenborg and Nicola Tesla, Tomatis is an irrepressible pioneer.” -Marilyn Ferguson, author of The Aquarian Conspiracy


$25.95List Price:

EGZ Book of Frogs

Franz Kamin

EGZ Book of Frogs was originally written by “Uncle Franz” for the child (EGZ) that lives inside his adult friend Eve Rosenthal; and was illustrated by another friend, Kathy Bourbonais.  This and several other little stories were….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

Franz Kamin

EGZ Book of Frogs was originally written by “Uncle Franz” for the child (EGZ) that lives inside his adult friend Eve Rosenthal; and was illustrated by another friend, Kathy Bourbonais. This and several other little stories were later set to music for the mime and flute team of Jane Adler and Andrew Bolotowsky. The book is available either with or without a recording (7 inch LP) of these pieces. Also available from Station Hill Press: Franz Kamin’s book Ann Margret Loves You and 12 inch LP Behavioral Drift II/ Rugugmool.


$8.95List Price:

If I Am a Musical Thinker

If I Am A Musical Thinker is a statement of the aesthetic, social, and spiritual credo of the influential American composer and writer Benjamin Boretz. Boretz proposes that artistic expression answers primal human…

Buy now

 

Additional DescriptionMore Details

If I Am A Musical Thinker is a statement of the aesthetic, social, and spiritual credo of the influential American composer and writer Benjamin Boretz. Boretz proposes that artistic expression answers primal human needs for experiencing identity through articulation in artistic media; and further, that theoretical reflection is — constructively or deconstructively.

Buy now


$9.95List Price:

Music & Your Mind

The power of music to effect significant changes in consciousness has long been known, but it was Helen L. Bonny’s pioneer work in the field of music therapy that first offered a specific method…

Additional DescriptionMore Details

The power of music to effect significant changes in consciousness The power of music to effect significant changes in consciousness has long been known, but it was Helen L. Bonny’s pioneer work in the field of music therapy that first offered a specific method using guided imagery for altering our state of awareness. This updated and expanded edition offers step-by-step descriptions of twenty-five listening experiences designed to open new doors to creativity, insight, and self-understanding.



Music and Sound in the Healing Arts

Richly illustrated with pictures, stories, and the author’s experience as composer and therapist, this book explores the history and practice of healing sound from ancient philosophies to the practical applications of therapy, religion, and art: mantra, toning, voice evaluation, tuning forks, and music listening….

Additional DescriptionMore Details

John Beaulieu

Richly illustrated with pictures, stories, and the author’s experience as composer and therapist, this book explores the history and practice of healing sound from ancient philosophies to the practical applications of therapy, religion, and art: mantra, toning, voice evaluation, tuning forks, and music listening. It also contains guidelines and exercises for teaching and an evaluation of music therapy today.

”…destined to become an invaluable resource for teachers, students and practitioners in all the healing arts. (He) guides his reader through all there is to know about sound healing—perfectly integrating didactic left-brain material with right-brain inner journeying.” – Elisabeth L. Macrae, MD

“(His) development of the body as sound is artfully done and is maintained by a well-supported and cohesive systems view. I especially appreciate his presentation of the practical aspects of sound energetics.” – James Z. Said, DC, ND

“Great! Finally a book on the important topic of healing with sound that comes from clinical experience—not facile esoteric speculation.” – David Gonzalez, Certified Music Therapist


$15.95List Price:

Wonders of the Natural Mind

This book is a presentation of Dzogchen as taught in the Bon tradition…

Additional DescriptionMore Details

This book is a presentation of Dzogchen as taught in the Bon tradition. Dzogchen has began to be familiar to Westerners parincipally through the teachings of Nyingmapa school. In WONDERS OF THE NATURAL MIND, the author presents the Dzogchne teachings based on the Zhang Shung NyanGyud, the fundamental Bon text. The test gives an epitome of the main points of Dzogchen, its relation to the various systems of Bon teachings, and the authoer’s personal relfections on the practive of Dzogchen in the West.



Pages: 1 2 3 4 5Next >Last »